Classification of Kingdom Animalia

Classification of Kingdom Animalia

Kingdom Animalia is a large and diverse group of organisms. It includes everything from microscopic single-celled bacteria to the largest animal on Earth the blue whale. Organisms in kingdom Animalia are generally distinguished from other living things by their ability to move independently. This is not always the case, however; some animals such as sponges and corals are stationary for their entire lives. Other characteristics of animals include the possession of specialized sense organs such as eyes and ears and a nervous system that coordinates movement and sensation.

classification of kingdom animalia

Classification of kingdom Animalia

The taxonomic rank of the kingdom is the second-highest after the domain with phylum being the third. In the two-kingdom system of classification used until the 1960s plants were classified as plants and animals as animals. In this system kingdom was therefore the highest taxonomic rank. However, with the development of evolutionary theory in the 19th century, it became apparent that there was a close evolutionary relationship between plants and animals. The five-kingdom system of classification was developed to reflect this evolutionary relationship. In this system, the kingdom is the second highest taxonomic rank with the domain being the highest.

classification of kingdom animalia class 11

Classification of kingdom Animalia class 11

The animal kingdom is divided into many different classes. The class that an animal falls into is based on certain characteristics. For example, mammals are a class of animals that have fur or hair produce milk for their young, and have a backbone. There are other classes of animals as well such as reptiles amphibians birds and fish.

classification of kingdom animalia based on fundamental features

Classification of kingdom Animalia based on fundamental features

The animal kingdom is classified based on fundamental features that all animals share. These features include being heterotrophic having cell walls composed of cellulose and being able to move. Animals are further classified into subgroups based on more specific characteristics. For example, some animals are classified as vertebrates which means they have a backbone while others are classified as invertebrates which means they do not have a backbone.

classification of kingdom animalia for class 9

Classification of kingdom Animalia for class 9

The Kingdom Animalia includes all animals. Animals are eukaryotic meaning that their cells contain a nucleus. Most animals are multicellular meaning they are composed of many cells. Animals are heterotrophic meaning they cannot produce their own food and must obtain nutrients from other organisms. Animals can be divided into several different groups based on their characteristics. The most common classification system used for animals is the Linnaean system which divides animals into phyla (singular: phylum).

classification of kingdom animalia flowchart

Classification of kingdom Animalia flowchart

The kingdom Animalia is divided into numerous phyla each of which contains a number of different species. The phyla are further divided into classes and the classes are divided into orders. The orders are then divided into families and the families are divided into genera. The genera are then divided into species.

The kingdom Animalia can be classified using a flowchart. The first step is to determine whether the animal in question is a vertebrate or an invertebrate. If the animal is a vertebrate then it is classified as either a fish an amphibian a reptile a bird or a mammal. If the animal is an invertebrate then it is classified as either a mollusk or an arthropod.

classification of kingdom animalia ppt

Classification of kingdom Animalia ppt

The Kingdom Animalia is a large and diverse group of organisms with over 1.3 million currently described species. The animals are distinguished from other living things by their possession of eukaryotic cells multicellularity and tissue-level organization. They are also distinguished by their ability to move about independently using a variety of specialized appendages. Animals are further divided into a number of subgroups based on their level of organization body plan and mode of locomotion. The most familiar animals are the vertebrates which include the fishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals.

classes of kingdom animalia

Classes of kingdom Animalia

There are generally considered to be two classes of animals within the Kingdom Animalia: vertebrates and invertebrates. Vertebrates are animals that have a backbone while invertebrates are animals that do not have a backbone. There are approximately 60,000 species of vertebrates and over 1,000,000 species of invertebrates. The vast majority of animals are invertebrates with insects being the most abundant type of animal on Earth.

organisms of kingdom animalia

Organisms of kingdom Animalia

Organisms of the kingdom Animalia are eukaryotic meaning they have cells that contain a nucleus. They are multicellular meaning they have more than one cell. They are heterotrophic meaning they cannot make their own food and must get nutrition from other sources.

Animals are distinguished from other eukaryotes by several characteristics including the presence of specialized tissues such as muscles and nerves and the ability to move about independently. The kingdom Animalia includes a vast array of creatures from the single-celled amoeba to the blue whale the largest animal on Earth.

Leave a Comment